How Long to Beat
KING Art has not given Dawn of War 4's length in hours as of Nov 1, 2026. Its four campaigns hold more than 70 missions, a single run of one campaign is about 12 to 15 missions by Jan Theysen's estimate, and a typical Crusade, a free 2027 mode, takes eight to ten hours.
How long Dawn of War 4 takes to beat is not known yet: as of Nov 1, 2026 KING Art has published no length in hours, and nobody outside the press has played a campaign through. What the makers have said is the size: four campaigns and more than 70 missions, with one run of a campaign "probably something between 12 and 15 missions," as creative director Jan Theysen told GamesRadar+. The game is out on Dec 3, 2026, and this page will carry real completion times once players have them.
Quick facts
| Official length in hours | Not published as of Nov 1, 2026 |
| Campaigns | 4 |
| Campaign missions in all | 70+ |
| One run of one campaign | About 12 to 15 missions (Theysen's rough figure) |
| Ork campaign | 18 missions, 14 or 15 in one run |
| Cutscenes | More than 40 minutes (PCGamesN, Aug 2025) |
| A typical Crusade | 8 to 10 hours, free in 2027 |
| A press estimate | 30 to 35 hours for the campaigns, MeinMMO, Aug 2025 |
Sources: KING Art, Oct 21, 2026; GamesRadar+, Aug 20, 2025; GamingBolt, from IGN, Oct 7, 2026; KING Art, May 21, 2026; MeinMMO, Aug 22, 2025.
How many missions is one playthrough?
About 12 to 15 per campaign, by Theysen's own rough count. He told GamesRadar+ that each campaign is "bigger than the campaign in the first Dawn of War", that not every mission is mandatory, and that because the campaigns branch "when you play a campaign once, you cannot play all the missions." The one exact count is the Ork campaign's: 18 missions, of which a run plays 14 or 15, because you side with one of two warbosses. How the branching works is on Four Campaigns and Ork Campaign.
Four campaigns at 12 to 15 missions each is roughly 48 to 60 missions to see each campaign once, out of the more than 70 KING Art counts. That is arithmetic on Theysen's estimate, not a figure from the studio.
How many hours is the campaign?
No one knows from the makers. The only estimate in hours came from MeinMMO's editor after the Aug 2025 gamescom demo, who guessed 30 to 35 hours for the campaigns from one demo mission that took him 25 to 30 minutes. Missions differ in length, so treat it as one writer's guess from a single mission, not a length.
Two more things lengthen a run. Each campaign opens with a CGI cutscene, and PCGamesN reported more than 40 minutes of cinematic cutscenes in Aug 2025. And the campaign can be played solo or with a friend, at whatever difficulty you choose; see Co-op.
How long to see everything?
Longer than one run of each campaign, by design. Seeing every mission means replaying campaigns down their other branches: the Space Marine campaign splits by Chapter and the Ork campaign by warboss, among others. KING Art calls it more single-player content than any RTS, its own claim.
Outside the campaigns, Skirmish, Multiplayer and Last Stand have no end. Crusade Mode, a free 2027 update, is a replayable campaign where a typical Crusade takes eight to ten hours, per KING Art. The paid expansions Blood Ravens Story Prologue and Aftermath add story in 2027 with no published length.
How does it compare with the older games?
The first game had one campaign, on Tartarus, and Theysen says each of Dawn of War 4's four is bigger. Dawn of War 3 had one campaign of 17 missions that swapped faction. Dawn of War 2's campaign was put at 20-plus hours by GamesRadar+. The series is on Dawn of War Games in Order.
Frequently asked questions
How long is Dawn of War 4? KING Art has not published a length in hours for Dawn of War 4 as of Nov 1, 2026. Its four campaigns hold more than 70 missions, and one run of a campaign is about 12 to 15 missions.
How many missions are in a Dawn of War 4 campaign? Jan Theysen estimates 12 to 15 missions for one playthrough of a Dawn of War 4 campaign. The Ork campaign has 18 in all, of which a run plays 14 or 15.
Can you see every mission in one Dawn of War 4 playthrough? No. Dawn of War 4's campaigns branch, so one run of a campaign skips some missions, and seeing all of them means playing it again.
How long is a Crusade in Dawn of War 4? KING Art says a typical Dawn of War 4 Crusade takes eight to ten hours. Crusade Mode arrives as a free update in 2027, not at launch.
Is Dawn of War 4's campaign longer than the first Dawn of War's? Yes, by its makers' account: Jan Theysen says each of Dawn of War 4's four campaigns is bigger than the first game's whole campaign.
Sources
- Official Game Overview Trailer, KING Art Games, Oct 21, 2026
- Studio Claims it Has the Most Single-Player Content of Any RTS, GamingBolt, Oct 7, 2026
- Introducing the cast, KING Art Games, Aug 5, 2026
- Crusade mode returns, KING Art Games, May 21, 2026
- Meet the new faces from our epic Story Trailer!, KING Art Games, Dec 12, 2025
- Dawn of War 4's four campaigns are all "bigger than the campaign in the first Dawn of War", Scott McCrae, GamesRadar+, Aug 20, 2025
- I only played Dawn of War 4 for 30 minutes, Benedict Grothaus, MeinMMO, Aug 22, 2025
- Dawn of War 4 guide, PCGamesN, Aug 29, 2025
- Beautiful but bittersweet: Dawn of War III review, Mike Pearce, GamingTrend, Apr 27, 2017
- Dawn of War II review, Dan Stapleton, GamesRadar+, Feb 19, 2009
See also
-
Four CampaignsDawn of War 4 has four faction campaigns with more than 70 missions in total, playable solo or with a friend, and no single run sees every mission. Only the Ork campaign has a published count, 18 missions with 14 or 15 per run; campaign length in hours is not known as of Nov 1, 2026. -
Ork CampaignDawn of War 4's Ork campaign makes you back either Warboss Gorgutz or Beastboss Guzcutta, with 18 missions in all and 14 or 15 in one run, per Jan Theysen. Previews name the missions Da Beastboss, Da Biggest Boss and Da Race, and the game is out Dec 3, 2026. -
Co-opYes, Dawn of War 4 has co-op: the campaign for two players, Last Stand for three, and team Skirmish against AI. Steam lists online co-op; local play and whether both players must own the game are not stated.
-
SkirmishSkirmish is Dawn of War 4's custom battle mode against AI, with dozens of settings, four game types and up to five AI opponents, and you can team up with a friend. Whether it works without an internet connection is not stated.
-
MultiplayerDawn of War 4 launches with 1v1, 2v2 and 3v3 online multiplayer on 30 maps and three game types, with Quick Match defaulting to Annihilation. Ranked play, crossplay and final balance are not confirmed as of Oct 31, 2026.
-
Last StandLast Stand is Dawn of War 4's three-player co-op horde mode, where you pick one of five heroes, build a Strikeforce and survive deadlier waves. It returns from Dawn of War 2 and is in the launch game; KING Art's closer look is still to come.