Skirmish
Skirmish is Dawn of War 4's custom battle mode against AI, with dozens of settings, four game types and up to five AI opponents, and you can team up with a friend. Whether it works without an internet connection is not stated.
Skirmish is Dawn of War 4's custom battle mode: you pick the map, the factions, the difficulty and more, from dozens of settings, four game types and up to five AI opponents. KING Art pitches it as practice away from the campaign or custom-made mayhem. It is in the game at launch on Dec 3, 2026, and it was in the Oct 2026 preview build as 1v1 Skirmish, so the early reports come from there. The clip is the Oct 2026 Game Overview Trailer.
Quick facts
| Settings | Dozens, per Deep Silver |
| Game types | Four: Annihilation, Domination, Maelstrom, Defend |
| Maps | 30 at launch |
| AI opponents | Up to five |
| Difficulty names seen | Medium (ComicBook), Hard (KING Art) |
| Co-op against AI | Yes; KING Art has shown 2v2 Team Skirmish |
| Offline play | Not stated as of Oct 31, 2026 |
Sources: Deep Silver's press release, Oct 21, 2026; KING Art's multiplayer AMA, Jul 24, 2026; Battlefield Report 5, Sep 23, 2026; ComicBook, Oct 21, 2026.
Game types
Deep Silver promises four game types, and the Game Overview Trailer names them: Annihilation (destroy enemy HQs), Domination (seize positions for Victory Points), Maelstrom (hunt or destroy targets for points) and Defend (hold the line against waves). The first three are shared with Multiplayer, per KING Art's AMA.
Match settings
Some of the settings are public. KING Art says match settings can make Commanders a starting unit or disable them entirely. Big Boss Battle, describing KING Art's Sep 9, 2026 Battlefield Report, lists health and damage, resource changes including Waaagh! and the Power Matrix, Quick Start and low time-to-kill. No full list is published. The clip is that report's lobby.
The AI
ComicBook's preview found Skirmish AI almost unfairly hard on medium difficulty, while campaign missions were more forgiving. That is one writer on one pre-release build, and KING Art may tune it before launch. Press Start, which also had 1v1 Skirmish, withheld a verdict on balance and long-term depth. KING Art's own staff fought Hard AI on Maelstrom in a 2v2 video, where the AI played Orks. The number and names of all difficulty levels are not published. The clip is KING Art's Sep 2026 Battlefield Report.
Co-op against AI
The same Battlefield Report shows two players on a team against AI, which KING Art labels "2v2 Team Skirmish PvE". KING Art also said in Nov 2025 that its modes support co-op play. See Co-op for the whole picture. The largest team size against AI is not spelled out.
Offline
Steam lists Single-player for the game, but neither KING Art nor Deep Silver has said whether Skirmish runs without an internet connection, and DRM is not published as of Oct 31, 2026. See System Requirements and Platforms.
Frequently asked questions
Does Dawn of War 4 have Skirmish? Yes. Skirmish is in the launch game, letting you set the map, factions and difficulty with dozens of settings, four game types and up to five AI opponents.
How hard is the Dawn of War 4 Skirmish AI? In the Oct 2026 preview build, ComicBook found it almost unfairly hard on medium difficulty. That is a pre-release impression, and the AI may change before launch on Dec 3, 2026.
Can you play Dawn of War 4 offline? Not confirmed as of Oct 31, 2026. Steam lists Single-player, but no official source says whether Skirmish or the campaign works without an internet connection.
Can you play Skirmish with friends in Dawn of War 4? Yes. KING Art has shown a 2v2 Team Skirmish against Hard AI, and says its modes support co-op play.
What are the Skirmish game types in Dawn of War 4? Four: Annihilation, Domination, Maelstrom and Defend, per KING Art's Game Overview Trailer.
Sources
- New Trailer: Dawn of War IV Deploys Massive Game Overview, Deep Silver on GamesPress, Oct 21, 2026
- What we're building with Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV, KING Art Games on Steam, Nov 14, 2025
- AMA Developer Blog - Multiplayer, KING Art Games on Steam, Jul 24, 2026
- Battlefield Report - 1v1 Annihilation Orks vs Necrons, KING Art Games on Steam, Sep 9, 2026
- Battlefield Report - 2v2 Team Skirmish Maelstrom PvE, KING Art Games on Steam, Sep 23, 2026
- Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV store page, Steam, Oct 31, 2026
- Dawn of War IV showcases Orks, Necrons and Stratagems, Big Boss Battle, Sep 11, 2026
- Dawn of War 4 Is a Return to Form for the RTS Series, ComicBook, Oct 21, 2026
- Warhammer 40K Dawn of War IV Hands-On Preview - What Waaagh's Good For, Press Start, Oct 21, 2026
- Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV - Official Game Overview Trailer, Dawn of War IV, Oct 21, 2026 (video)
- Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV Battlefield Report - 1v1 Annihilation Orks vs Necrons, Dawn of War IV, Sep 9, 2026 (video)
- Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV Battlefield Report - 2v2 Team Skirmish Maelstrom PvE, Dawn of War IV, Sep 23, 2026 (video)
Moments
Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV - Official Game Overview Trailer
Dawn of War IV
Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV Battlefield Report - 1v1 Annihilation Orks vs Necrons
Dawn of War IV
Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV Battlefield Report - 2v2 Team Skirmish Maelstrom PvE
Dawn of War IV
See also
-
MultiplayerDawn of War 4 launches with 1v1, 2v2 and 3v3 online multiplayer on 30 maps and three game types, with Quick Match defaulting to Annihilation. Ranked play, crossplay and final balance are not confirmed as of Oct 31, 2026.
-
Co-opYes, Dawn of War 4 has co-op: the campaign for two players, Last Stand for three, and team Skirmish against AI. Steam lists online co-op; local play and whether both players must own the game are not stated.
- System Requirements and PlatformsDawn of War 4's system requirements had not been published as of Oct 31, 2026; Steam says only that it needs a 64-bit processor and operating system. It is announced for Windows on Steam only, with no console, Mac or native Linux version, and no stated Steam Deck status.
-
Crusade ModeCrusade Mode is Dawn of War 4's replayable endless campaign on a turn-based map of Kronus, and it arrives as a free update in 2027, not in the launch build. KING Art says a typical Crusade takes eight to ten hours.
-
Last StandLast Stand is Dawn of War 4's three-player co-op horde mode, where you pick one of five heroes, build a Strikeforce and survive deadlier waves. It returns from Dawn of War 2 and is in the launch game; KING Art's closer look is still to come.