Co-op
Yes, Dawn of War 4 has co-op: the campaign for two players, Last Stand for three, and team Skirmish against AI. Steam lists online co-op; local play and whether both players must own the game are not stated.
Yes, Dawn of War 4 has co-op: you can play the campaign solo or with a friend, take on The Last Stand with two allies, and fight the AI as a team in Skirmish. Steam lists Online Co-op from launch on Dec 3, 2026. The details below are from KING Art's posts, and no outside report of playing these modes together is available here as of Oct 31, 2026. The clip is the Oct 2026 Game Overview Trailer.
Quick facts
| Campaign | Two players |
| Last Stand | Three players |
| Team Skirmish against AI | Yes; 2v2 shown by KING Art |
| Competitive teams | 2v2 and 3v3 in Multiplayer |
| Steam's label | Online Co-op |
| Crusade co-op | Not stated |
Sources: KING Art's cast post, Aug 5, 2026; overview post, Oct 21, 2026; Battlefield Report 5, Sep 23, 2026; Steam store page.
Campaign for two
KING Art describes four campaigns "featuring branching choices and co-operative play". See Four Campaigns. How two players share one army, one Commander or one branching choice is not published.
Co-op campaigns have a series precedent: Dawn of War 2's whole campaign could be played in co-op.
Last Stand for three
Last Stand is built around the group: you and two allies against waves, each with one of five heroes and a Strikeforce of companions. KING Art's closer look is still to come.
Team Skirmish against AI
KING Art's Jan Theysen and Elliott Verbiest team up against Hard AI in a 2v2 Team Skirmish PvE video on Maelstrom. Skirmish allows up to five AI opponents. See Skirmish.
Not known as of Oct 31, 2026
- Whether Crusade Mode, due free in 2027, has co-op. KING Art's Crusade post does not mention it.
- Whether both players must own the game, or the same edition. See Editions and Price.
- Whether the campaign has drop-in play, and whose progress is saved
- Local or LAN play. Steam lists online co-op only.
- Whether Commander Edition early access on Nov 30, 2026 lets you play with a friend on Standard
Frequently asked questions
Does Dawn of War 4 have co-op? Yes. Dawn of War 4 has a campaign for two players, the three-player Last Stand mode, and team Skirmish against AI, all listed under Online Co-op on Steam.
Can you play the Dawn of War 4 campaign in co-op? Yes. KING Art says the campaign can be played solo or with a friend. How the two players share control is not published as of Oct 31, 2026.
How many players can play Dawn of War 4 together? Two in the campaign, three in Last Stand, and up to six in 3v3 multiplayer.
Can you play Dawn of War 4 with friends against AI? Yes. KING Art has shown a 2v2 Team Skirmish against Hard AI, and Skirmish allows up to five AI opponents.
Sources
- Introducing the cast of Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV, KING Art Games on Steam, Aug 5, 2026
- Official Game Overview Trailer, KING Art Games on Steam, Oct 21, 2026
- Battlefield Report - 2v2 Team Skirmish Maelstrom PvE, KING Art Games on Steam, Sep 23, 2026
- New Trailer: Dawn of War IV Deploys Massive Game Overview, Deep Silver on GamesPress, Oct 21, 2026
- Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV store page, Steam, Oct 31, 2026
- Dawn of War II Anniversary Edition, Steam, Oct 31, 2026
- Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV - Official Game Overview Trailer, Dawn of War IV, Oct 21, 2026 (video)
- Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV Battlefield Report - 2v2 Team Skirmish Maelstrom PvE, Dawn of War IV, Sep 23, 2026 (video)
Moments
Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV - Official Game Overview Trailer
Dawn of War IV
Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV Battlefield Report - 2v2 Team Skirmish Maelstrom PvE
Dawn of War IV
See also
-
Four CampaignsDawn of War 4 has four faction campaigns with more than 70 missions in total, playable solo or with a friend, and no single run sees every mission. Only the Ork campaign has a published count, 18 missions with 14 or 15 per run; campaign length in hours is not known as of Oct 31, 2026. -
Dawn of War 2Dawn of War 2 is Relic's 2009 sequel, which dropped base building for a small squad of leveling Space Marines, cover, loot and a co-op campaign, and added the Last Stand mode that returns in Dawn of War 4. It is sold today as the Anniversary Edition.
-
Last StandLast Stand is Dawn of War 4's three-player co-op horde mode, where you pick one of five heroes, build a Strikeforce and survive deadlier waves. It returns from Dawn of War 2 and is in the launch game; KING Art's closer look is still to come.
-
SkirmishSkirmish is Dawn of War 4's custom battle mode against AI, with dozens of settings, four game types and up to five AI opponents, and you can team up with a friend. Whether it works without an internet connection is not stated.
-
Crusade ModeCrusade Mode is Dawn of War 4's replayable endless campaign on a turn-based map of Kronus, and it arrives as a free update in 2027, not in the launch build. KING Art says a typical Crusade takes eight to ten hours.
-
Editions and PriceDawn of War 4 costs $59.99 for the Standard Edition and $89.99 for the Commander Edition, which adds a 3-Day Early Unlock, both paid expansions and the digital soundtrack. Pre-orders on Steam were 10% off on Oct 31, 2026, at $53.99 and $80.99.