Last Stand
Last Stand is Dawn of War 4's three-player co-op horde mode, where you pick one of five heroes, build a Strikeforce and survive deadlier waves. It returns from Dawn of War 2 and is in the launch game; KING Art's closer look is still to come.
Last Stand is Dawn of War 4's horde mode: you and two allies survive waves of enemies, each choosing one of five heroes and building a Strikeforce of companion units. It returns from Dawn of War 2 and is in the launch game on Dec 3, 2026. KING Art promised a closer look before launch; as of Oct 31, 2026 it has not appeared, so little is published and the five heroes are unnamed. The clip, from the Oct 2026 Game Overview Trailer, adds 20 waves and a Strikeforce of up to three companions.
Quick facts
| Type | Co-op survival against waves |
| Players | You and two allies |
| Heroes | Choose from five at launch; names not published |
| Length | 20 waves |
| Companions | A Strikeforce of up to three |
| Progress | 30 levels, unlocking gear and abilities |
| Planned additions | Lord Ahmnok and Guzcutta, free, in 2027 |
| Origin | Dawn of War 2 |
Sources: Deep Silver's press release, Oct 21, 2026; KING Art's feature post, Nov 14, 2025; Steam store page and its roadmap image.
How it plays
KING Art's description is a horde-like mode of increasingly deadly waves, where you level up your characters and unlock new skills and equipment to keep ahead. Deep Silver adds the Strikeforce of companion units. The mode is one of the things KING Art says should keep players busy for dozens or even hundreds of hours after the story. The same trailer gives 30 levels.
It was not in the Oct 2026 preview build, which held prologues, two full campaigns and 1v1 Skirmish, nor in the closed beta, which offered 1v1 only, so this viki has no outside hands-on report. See Co-op for how it fits with the other team modes.
New heroes on the roadmap
The Steam roadmap, marked subject to change, lists two free additions "for Last Stand and Crusade": Lord Ahmnok with Map Pack II, and Guzcutta with Map Pack IV near Summer 2027. Both names match faction Commanders: Ahmnok of the Necrons and Guzcutta of the Orks. That suggests neither is among the first five heroes, but KING Art does not say so. The full order is on the Year One Roadmap.
Last Stand in Dawn of War 2
The mode comes from Dawn of War 2. Steam's Anniversary Edition page lists "a full co-op Last Stand mode with eight unique heroes", and Chaos Rising added two of them, a Chaos Sorcerer and a Tyranid Hive Tyrant. KING Art's view is short: "Everybody loves Last Stand." Companion units are a detail Deep Silver gives for this version; how closely the rest follows the older mode will show when KING Art publishes its closer look.
Not known as of Oct 31, 2026
- The five heroes, their abilities and skill trees
- The maps, and what follows the 20 waves
- Whether progress carries between runs
- Difficulty levels, and whether you can play with fewer than three
This page will be updated when KING Art's closer look arrives.
Frequently asked questions
Is Last Stand in Dawn of War 4? Yes. KING Art lists The Last Stand as a launch mode for Dawn of War 4, on Dec 3, 2026, where you and two allies fight waves of enemies.
How many players is Last Stand in Dawn of War 4? Three: you and two allies. Whether you can start a run with fewer is not stated as of Oct 31, 2026.
Does Dawn of War 4 have a horde mode? Yes, Last Stand. KING Art calls it a horde-like mode of increasingly deadly waves, with characters who level up and unlock skills and equipment.
Who are the Last Stand heroes in Dawn of War 4? You choose from five, but they are not named as of Oct 31, 2026. The Steam roadmap adds Lord Ahmnok and Guzcutta as free updates in 2027.
Sources
- New Trailer: Dawn of War IV Deploys Massive Game Overview, Deep Silver on GamesPress, Oct 21, 2026
- What we're building with Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV, KING Art Games on Steam, Nov 14, 2025
- Game Overview Trailer, Previews & Closed Beta, KING Art Games on Steam, Oct 23, 2026
- Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV store page, Steam, Oct 31, 2026
- Dawn of War II Anniversary Edition, Steam, Oct 31, 2026
- Dawn of War II: Chaos Rising, Steam, Oct 31, 2026
- Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV - Official Game Overview Trailer, Dawn of War IV, Oct 21, 2026 (video)
Moments
Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV - Official Game Overview Trailer
Dawn of War IV
See also
-
Dawn of War 2Dawn of War 2 is Relic's 2009 sequel, which dropped base building for a small squad of leveling Space Marines, cover, loot and a co-op campaign, and added the Last Stand mode that returns in Dawn of War 4. It is sold today as the Anniversary Edition.
-
Co-opYes, Dawn of War 4 has co-op: the campaign for two players, Last Stand for three, and team Skirmish against AI. Steam lists online co-op; local play and whether both players must own the game are not stated.
-
CommandersDawn of War 4 names 10 Commanders: four Space Marines (two per Chapter) and two each for Orks, Necrons and Adeptus Mechanicus. In campaigns they are story characters; elsewhere they are generic faction units picked before a match and usually produced mid-match.
-
NecronsThe Necrons in Dawn of War 4 expand slowly from a Tomb Citadel, spreading a Power Matrix that earns Dominion and strengthens units, and bring fallen units back free through Resurrection Galleries. Their Commanders are Chronomancer Thothmek and Ahmnok. -
OrksThe Orks in Dawn of War 4 win through Waaagh!, a meter filled by Ork numbers and kills, plus cheap units, cheap armed buildings and fast Veterancy. Their Commanders are Warboss Gorgutz and Beastboss Guzcutta, and their Stratagems are free. -
Year One RoadmapDawn of War 4's Year One roadmap runs through 2027 with free updates (Crusade Mode, four map packs, the Mission Editor, Lord Ahmnok and Guzcutta for Last Stand and Crusade) and two paid expansions, Blood Ravens Story Prologue and Aftermath. Steam gives no exact dates and marks it subject to change.