Crusade Mode
Crusade Mode is Dawn of War 4's replayable endless campaign on a turn-based map of Kronus, and it arrives as a free update in 2027, not in the launch build. KING Art says a typical Crusade takes eight to ten hours.
Crusade Mode is Dawn of War 4's "endless mode", a replayable campaign on a turn-based map of Kronus, and it arrives as a free update after launch, first on the 2027 line of Steam's roadmap with Map Pack I. It is not in the launch build on Dec 3, 2026. No exact date is published as of Oct 31, 2026. KING Art says a typical Crusade takes around eight to ten hours. The clip is the May 2026 reveal trailer, whose map and battle are marked as work in progress.
Quick facts
| Arrives | Free update in 2027; first item on the roadmap; no exact date |
| At launch | No |
| Price | Free |
| Map | Turn-based, the territories of Kronus |
| Length | About 8 to 10 hours a Crusade |
| Commanders | Five with their own Crusade when the mode arrives; which five is not published |
| Later | Lord Ahmnok and Guzcutta, free, per the roadmap |
| Origin | Dark Crusade, 2006 |
Sources: KING Art on Crusade, May 21, 2026; KING Art's overview, Oct 21, 2026; Steam store page and its roadmap image, marked subject to change.
When it arrives, and why some say launch
KING Art's May 21, 2026 post says five Commanders get a Crusade "when the game launches". That was the September plan, and it no longer holds. The same day's roadmap had the free content starting in Fall 2026; after the delay to Dec 3, the Steam roadmap starts at 2027 with Crusade Mode and Map Pack I, and the Oct 21, 2026 post lists Crusade among the free updates after launch. GamingBolt's report of the delay puts it in early 2027. See Year One Roadmap and Release Date and Launch Time.
The turn-based map
Each turn you spend a limited number of Action Points to move your Strike Force into neutral and enemy territories across Kronus, then the enemy responds. Each territory has its own rewards and challenges. KING Art's example: attacking a territory costs two Action Points, but one target might pay back a pair if you win, extending your turn.
Battles and auto resolve
The game tracks both sides' strengths to set an encounter's difficulty. If you are strong enough that a win looks certain, the fight resolves itself, so that the game does not slow down. Tougher encounters play out like a normal Skirmish. Rewards adapt to how you did: dominating a fight where the enemy was favored pays more. Whether you can choose to auto resolve or to fight is not stated.
Strike Forces and Requisition
Between battles, your units keep their XP, levels, skills and Wargear for the whole Crusade, so the army grows as you go; see Combat, Cover and Retreat for what those mean in a match.
Conquering regions earns Requisition, a campaign-level resource with the same name as a match's main resource (see Resources and Territory). You spend it on the defenses and economies of captured territory, which makes them harder to retake, and on healing and improving Strike Forces between battles.
Commanders
Five Commanders get a dedicated Crusade, with more to come free. Each has its own goals, starting conditions, and combat advantages and disadvantages. KING Art has not said which five. The Steam roadmap names two additions "for Last Stand and Crusade": Lord Ahmnok with Map Pack II and Guzcutta with Map Pack IV. That suggests those two are not in the first five, though KING Art does not say so. See Commanders.
Where it comes from
KING Art says the mode began in the first game's Dark Crusade expansion. Dark Crusade (Oct 9, 2006) was also set on Kronus: a turn-based map of provinces between real-time battles, won by destroying rivals' strongholds, with Planetary Requisition spent on garrisons, Honor Guard units and Wargear. Soulstorm then stretched the idea to several planets and moons. Dawn of War 4's version keeps the map, the territory and the Requisition, and adds Action Points and the automatic fights. KING Art hopes it is the kind of thing where you want to conquer "that one continent".
Not known as of Oct 31, 2026
- The exact release date
- Which five Commanders come first
- Whether Crusade can be played in Co-op
- The win condition of each Crusade, beyond an "overall Crusade objective"
- Whether Crusades have a difficulty setting
Frequently asked questions
When does Crusade Mode come to Dawn of War 4? In 2027 as a free update, first on Steam's roadmap with Map Pack I. No exact date is published as of Oct 31, 2026, and GamingBolt reports it as early 2027.
Is Crusade Mode in Dawn of War 4 at launch? No. KING Art's May 2026 post said launch, but the roadmap updated after the delay and the Oct 21, 2026 overview list it as a free update after the Dec 3, 2026 launch.
Is Dawn of War 4's Crusade Mode free? Yes. KING Art lists Crusade Mode among the free updates, and says further Crusades will also be free.
How long is a Crusade in Dawn of War 4? KING Art says a typical Crusade takes around eight to ten hours, and that Crusades play out differently each time.
Does Dawn of War 4 have an endless mode or meta-campaign like Dark Crusade? Crusade Mode is that mode. KING Art calls it the endless mode, with a turn-based map of Kronus between battles, and traces it to Dark Crusade.
Which Commanders have a Crusade in Dawn of War 4? Five will at first, but KING Art has not named them as of Oct 31, 2026. The roadmap adds Lord Ahmnok and Guzcutta later.
Sources
- Crusade mode returns, KING Art Games on Steam, May 21, 2026
- Release date, pre-order & DLC plans confirmed, KING Art Games on Steam, May 21, 2026
- Official Game Overview Trailer, KING Art Games on Steam, Oct 21, 2026
- Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV store page, Steam, Oct 31, 2026
- Delayed to December 3rd for More Polish, GamingBolt, Aug 13, 2026
- Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Dark Crusade, Game Over Online, Nov 20, 2006
- Soulstorm review, VideoGamer, Jun 6, 2021
- Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV - Release Date & Post-Launch Roadmap Reveal Trailer, Warhammer, May 21, 2026 (video)
Moments
Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War IV - Release Date & Post-Launch Roadmap Reveal Trailer
Warhammer
See also
-
Year One RoadmapDawn of War 4's Year One roadmap runs through 2027 with free updates (Crusade Mode, four map packs, the Mission Editor, Lord Ahmnok and Guzcutta for Last Stand and Crusade) and two paid expansions, Blood Ravens Story Prologue and Aftermath. Steam gives no exact dates and marks it subject to change.
-
Release Date and Launch TimeDawn of War 4 comes out on Dec 3, 2026 on Steam, and Commander Edition owners can play from Nov 30, 2026. As of Oct 31, 2026 no launch hour and no pre-load date have been announced for either day.
-
SkirmishSkirmish is Dawn of War 4's custom battle mode against AI, with dozens of settings, four game types and up to five AI opponents, and you can team up with a friend. Whether it works without an internet connection is not stated.
-
Combat, Cover and RetreatDawn of War 4 gives squads cover, a retreat order and on-field reinforcement to preserve them and their veterancy. KING Art calls auto-reinforce the most powerful of the three and cover an optimization, not a deciding factor. -
Resources and TerritoryDawn of War 4's two main resources are Requisition and Power, and you earn them by capturing, holding and upgrading points on the map. Orks add Waaagh! and Necrons add Dominion; no income numbers are published yet.
-
CommandersDawn of War 4 names 10 Commanders: four Space Marines (two per Chapter) and two each for Orks, Necrons and Adeptus Mechanicus. In campaigns they are story characters; elsewhere they are generic faction units picked before a match and usually produced mid-match.